Energy Council of Canada - Home

  You Are Here: Home: Canadian Energy Person 2013  

Canadian Energy Person 2013


The Canadian Energy Person of the Year Award was established by the Energy Council of Canada, supported by the sectoral energy associations of Canada, to recognize and pay tribute to leaders in Canada who have made a significant impact at both the national and international level with respect to energy.


The Canadian Energy Person of the Year serves as an ambassador of our nation’s energy sector, demonstrating a clear vision and commitment to fostering the sustainable use and development of energy for the benefit of all. 


The Canadian Energy Person of the Year is nominated for this prestigious annual award based on their remarkable accomplishments in the energy and business or government sectors, as well as the community at large. One of their foremost characteristics is their strong sense of social responsibility and belief in giving back to the community by focusing on environmental and social issues, and economic development.  Through their forward thinking and innovative spirit, these leaders promote the Canadian energy sector and Canada’s role as a major player in the world energy market. 


The 2013 Canadian Energy Person of the Year award was presented on October 23, 2013 in Halifax, Nova Scotia jointly to Chris Huskilson of Emera Inc. and Ed Martin of Nalcor Energy.


 Champion Sponsors:




 Associate Sponsors:  








This joint award is in recognition of the major contributions the recipients have made, and continue to make, to the energy sector in Atlantic Canada and the significance of their leadership within the sector across Canada.  Both Emera and Nalcor have a broad range of energy interests throughout Atlantic Canada, Canada and the United States and Emera also holds interests in the Caribbean. 


Chris Huskilson is President and CEO of Emera Inc.  Chris began his career “in energy” in 1980 with Nova Scotia Power.  He started out in software engineering and monitoring control systems.  He was a part of the team that commissioned the Annapolis Tidal Generating Station, one of the few tidal generating plants in the world and the only such facility in North America.


Chris has significant hands-on experience in the operation of energy systems and power generation moving through senior leadership positions becoming Chief Operating Officer of Emera and Nova Scotia Power in 2003.  Chris became President and Chief Executive Officer of Emera in 2004 and has overseen the growth of the company including investments in Bangor Hydro, Brunswick Pipeline, Grand Bahama Power, Light and Power Holdings and Maine and Maritimes.


Ed Martin is President and CEO of Nalcor Energy.  He has over 30 years experience in the energy sector including onshore and offshore oil and gas. Ed joined Nalcor in August 2005 and is leading Nalcor and its six subsidiaries with a steadfast focus on safety leadership, asset management and growth.


Under Ed’s guidance Nalcor is involved in large-scale energy developments and operations in both the hydro and the oil and gas sectors. This includes advancing the province’s hydropower developments, equity ownership in three offshore oil and gas projects, operation of Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro and Churchill Falls (Labrador) Corporation, ownership of a fully integrated industrial fabrication site. Nalcor is also involved in a leading-edge research and development renewable energy project.


Ed was named one of Canada’s 2012 Clean50 and Clean16 from Corporate Knights Inc. and the Delta Management Group in recognition of Nalcor’s environmental efforts.


Under the leadership of Ed and Chris, Nalcor and Emera have formed a strategic partnership for the development of Phase One of the Lower Churchill Project – Muskrat Falls and the Maritime Link Project. This development, and the broader Lower Churchill Project, is a significant region-building energy project.  It will unlock the energy potential of the Atlantic region and generate unprecedented economic benefits for Newfoundland and Labrador and Nova Scotia, as well as the entire Atlantic region and country. The scope and impact of the Muskrat Falls Project is recognized as one of Canada’s most important energy projects.


The Energy Council of Canada is excited to recognize Ed Martin and Chris Huskilson as the 2013 Canadian Energy Person of the Year. Details of the award ceremony as well as information on sponsorship and tickets will be available soon.


Previous Canadian Energy Person of the Year award recipients include: 




Thierry Vandal

President and Chief Executive Officer, Hydro-Québec



Rick George

President and Chief Executive Officer, Suncor Energy Inc.



Stephen G. Snyder

President and Chief Executive Officer, TransAlta Corporation



Charlie Fischer

Retired President and Chief Executive Officer, Nexen Inc



Jacques Lamarre

Former President and CEO, SNC Lavalin Group



Pat Daniel

President and CEO, Enbridge Inc.



Roland Priddle

Former Chair, National Energy Board



Duncan Hawthorne

President and CEO, BrucePower



Nellie Cournoyea

Chair and CEO, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (IRC)



Eric Newell

Former Chairman, President and CEO, Syncrude Canada Ltd.




Richard Drouin

Former Chair, North American Electric Reliability Council, and Former Chair and CEO, Hydro-Quebec




James Gray

Former President, CEO and Chairman, Hunter Exploration Ltd.



Files You Can Download


Click to open, or
Right-click in Windows to save; Click and hold in Mac to save.

CEPY 2013 Sponsorship Opportunities (1.61 MB)